Travis Smola

Missouri Adds 12 More Counties to Feeding Ban List in Fight Against CWD

Missouri is expanding deer feeding restrictions.

Some more bad news for Missouri hunters. The fight against chronic wasting disease or CWD is continuing in Missouri with the announcement of 12 new counties added to the state's deer feeding ban.

It will now be illegal to place minerals, salt licks, grain or other materials in Barry, Benton, Cedar, Dade, Hickory, Ozark, Polk, St. Clair, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, Stone and Taney counties. All of this is in an attempt to stop the spread of the deadly neurological disorder.

"CWD is spread from deer to deer and the potential for transmission increases when deer gather in larger, concentrated numbers," MDC Wildlife Disease Coordinator Jasmin Batten said in a press release.

The number of counties with feeding restrictions now stands at 41 in the Show Me State.

But feeding restrictions aren't the only effects of CWD. The MDC has also announced full mandatory CWD sampling for 25 counties for the opening weekend of the November firearms season. The new counties added to the list are Adair, Barry, Benton, Cedar, Cole, Crawford, Dade, Franklin, Hickory, Jefferson, Knox, Linn, Macon, Moniteau, Ozark, Polk, St. Charles, St. Clair, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, Stone, Sullivan, Taney, Warren and Washington.

CWD in Missouri has caused a ripple effect across the Ozarks the past few years as neighboring states like Arkansas and Mississippi have often stepped up their own efforts against the disease in response to fears about it spreading across borders. The news of these latest county feeding bans comes almost a year after the MDC set up focus study areas near the Arkansas border.