Governor Greg Abbott just signed a bill into law that dramatically lowers the fee necessary to get a Texas License To Carry permit.
If you’ve been looking into getting a concealed handgun license in the Lone Star State, I’ve got some great news for you: the state just enacted a new law makes getting a Texas License To Carry permit a whole lot cheaper.
As we first reported earlier this year, Senate Bill 16 (SB 16) was introduced in the Texas Legislature shortly after this session convened and Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick made passage of the bill a priority. SB 16 originally called for completely eliminating the fee for getting a Texas License to Carry permit. However, the version that Governor Abbott signed into law reduces the fee from $140 to $40 for new licenses, renewals, and to become a License to Carry Instructor.
— Greg Abbott (@GregAbbott_TX) May 26, 2017
The law also reduces the license fee to $0 for active Peace Officers and members of the Texas Armed Forces, $25 for active and retired judges, and $5 for renewals for citizens over the age of 60. The new law does not change the provision eliminating the license fee for men and women currently serving in the military along with those honorably discharged within 1 year of the date of their application for a Texas License to Carry permit.
Prior to the passage of SB 16, Texas actually had one of the most expensive concealed carry permits in the country, which is strange considering the otherwise friendly attitude towards gun owners in the state. However, this new law, together with the bill permitting open carry that passed in 2015, goes a long way towards putting the gun culture reality in Texas more in line with the state’s reputation.