Skip to main content

Only Seven Elk Hunting Tags Available in Minnestota This Year

If you had plans to go elk hunting in Minnesota this year, you may be out of luck, because the DNR is only releasing seven tags.

This year’s elk hunting season runs from September 12 through the 20, and the DNR is accepting applications now until June 12, but in an effort to increase the population, only seven will be handed out. Two less than last year’s nine.

Leslie McInenly, DNR big game program leader said:

The goals of the state’s elk management plan influence the number of hunting licenses available, and the management plan aims to balance the interest of hunters, landowners and others.

Licenses will be given for Kittson County’s northeast and central zones, but once again the Grygla area in Marshall County will closed in an effort to help the reduced population.

Since the number of elk has continually decreased, hunting in Grygla has not been an option for hunters since 2012.

Kittson County’s central zone will have five bulls-only licenses, and the northeast zone will have two. A single landowner license will be given to the central zone by the DNR as well.

The application will cost $287 and can be filled out here.

NEXT: Minnesota DNR Hoping to Protect Lake Trout Refuges

you might also like

Only Seven Elk Hunting Tags Available in Minnestota This Year