Skip to main content

NOAA Comes to the Rescue with Fisheries Disaster Relief

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) will allocate fisheries disaster relief to six locations.

According to the NOAA, a total of $75 million will be divided amongst the six locations that were declared fishery disasters by the Department of Commerce in 2012 and 2013.

RELATED: The US is Telling Other Countries Not to Fish in the Arctic Ocean

NOAA Fisheries spearheaded the efforts and made the unique disaster relief happen. These are the six fisheries receiving help: the New England multi-species groundfish fishery; Alaska’s Chinook salmon fishery; the Florida oyster fishery (thanks to a 2012 drought); commercial fisheries in American Samoa (after the 2009 tsunami); commercial fisheries in Mississippi (following the Mississippi River flood of 2011); and fisheries in New York and New Jersey (Super Storm Sandy in 2012).

A distinction of how much will go where can be found here.

“Our nation’s fisheries are critically important to the lives and livelihoods of many communities,” said Eileen Sobeck, assistant NOAA administrator for NOAA Fisheries, in the official news release. “NOAA Fisheries will work with affected communities, states and tribes as quickly as possible to ensure that the disaster relief funding gets allocated as quickly as possible.”

RELATED: Newfoundland Fishing Community on the Brink

The Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act allows the Commerce Secretary to declare a fishery disaster. That can trigger Congress to appropriate funds to provide economic assistance to fishing communities, including the actual anglers affected by a disaster, and to support other activities to help recovery efforts.

Are you glad government money is going towards American fisheries? Leave your thoughts in the comments section.

you might also like

NOAA Comes to the Rescue with Fisheries Disaster Relief