Skip to main content

Golden Moose Awards at SHOT Show 2014

The 2014 Golden Moose Awards were last night, bringing together stars from the best of outdoor television.

Held during SHOT Show 2014 at the Venetian Theatre at The Venetian Hotel & Casino, the Golden Moose Awards highlight the Outdoor Channel’s greatest moments, shows and personalities of the season. Willie Robertson, Joe Mantegna and Ted Nugent all left with awards, and guests in attendance included NRA CEO Wayne LaPierre and Rick Perry (who happened to be on the plane with the Wide Open Spaces team returning to Texas).

“Jim Shockey’s The Professionals” won the award for Best Overall Production, and showed off their moose antler trophies for the photo above (from’s Mike Suchan). Three other Golden Moose Awards were given to “The Professionals,” and “Shooting USA’s Impossible Shots” took the prize for the Shooting category.

A special Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award was given to MidwayUSA founder Larry Potterfield.

Michael Waddell, from Outdoor Channel’s “Realtree Road Trips” and “Bone Collector” hosted the evening’s event, with musical performances from Nugent, Aaron Lewis, Craig Morgan and Colton James entertaining the nearly 2,000-strong crowd.

When the awards were finished, 21 had been handed out, including ones for production, conservation, education and various “Best Game” categories.

The event will be streamed live on for the month, giving those who didn’t have a chance to be present at the show the opportunity to see what went down. If you plan to watch it, skip over the following list of winners to avoid any spoilers.

Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award | Winner: Larry Potterfield

Best Overall Production | Winner: Jim Shockey’s The Professionals

Best Deer | Winner: Bow Madness

Best Big Game Hunting | Winner: Jim Shockey’s The Professionals

Best Bird Hunting | Winners: Crush with Lee & Tiffany

Best Turkey Hunting | Winner: Bone Collector

Best Fishing | Winner: Zona’s Awesome Fishing Show

Best Shooting | Winner: Shooting USA’s Impossible Shots

Best Conservation / Educational / Instructional | Winner: MidwayUSA’s Gun Stories

Best Comedy | Winner: Wildgame Nation

Best Show Open | Winner: Ram Outdoorsman

Best Sound Design | Winner: Jim Shockey’s The Professionals

Best Videography / Camera Work | Winner: Jim Shockey’s The Professionals

Best Graphic Design and Animation | Winner: The Bass Pros

Best Commercial | Winner: Cabela’s

Best General Interest Show | Winner: Hornady’s Dark and Dangerous

Fan Favorite Best Overall | Winner: Ted Nugent Spirit of the Wild

Fan Favorite Best New Series | Winner: Chris Brackett’s Arrow Affliction

Fan Favorite Best Hunting Series | Winner: Crush with Lee & Tiffany

Fan Favorite Best Fishing Series | Winner: The Bassmaster Elite Series

Fan Favorite Best Host | Winner: Adam LaRoche, Ryan Langerhans, Tombo Martin, Luke Bryan, Jason Aldean and Willie Robertson of Buck Commander Protected by Under Armour

you might also like

Golden Moose Awards at SHOT Show 2014