Skip to main content

The 5 Stages of Being a Hunter [INFOGRAPHIC]

As hunters learn more about the sport and get seasoned in the field, they go through five different stages of being a hunter.

What kind of hunter do you consider yourself? Seasoned, skilled, novice, expert? All of these titles can be considered accurate, but back in the day there were five levels of evolution of a hunter, with each pointing specifically to the understanding of the sport and how it can affect you as a person over time.

So how did the notion of the evolution of a hunter come to be? Glad you asked. Via the University of Calgary,

Hunters change through the years. Factors used to determine “successful hunting” change as well for each hunter. A hunter’s age, role models, and his years of hunting experience affect his ideas of “success.” Many hunters may fit into one of the following five groups.

In 1975-1980, groups of over 1,000 hunters in Wisconsin were studied, surveyed, and written about by Professors Robert Jackson and Robert Norton, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse. The results of their studies form a widely accepted theory of hunter behavior and development. Where are you now? Where would you like to be?

This infographic does a great job of laying out the difference in each type of hunter while giving you perspective on how to reach the ultimate goal of not only being a well-skilled hunter, but a true sportsman.


So now that you’ve had a chance to look at it, where do you think you stack up in the evolution of a hunter?

NEXT: How to Preserve Your Harvest: Canning Venison [PICS]

you might also like

The 5 Stages of Being a Hunter [INFOGRAPHIC]