Despite the best efforts of the anti-gun lobby, West Virginia constitutional carry is now a reality.
In a major win for gun rights, the West Virginia legislature overrode Governor Earl Ray Tomblin’s (D) veto of House Bill 4145 last week. As a result, West Virginia constitutional carry is now a reality.
When the new law goes into effect in 90 days, West Virginia residents over the age of 21 who are not otherwise prohibited from owning a firearm will no longer need a license to carry a concealed handgun. The state will continue to issue licenses to residents between 18 and 21 years of age and those who want a license for reciprocity reasons. The bill also contains a provision for up to a $50 tax credit to reimburse those who choose to pay for concealed carry training.
If you want to learn more about the bill, the full text is located here.
With the passing of this House Bill 4145, there are now seven states with a form of constitutional carry: Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming.