Skip to main content

New Connecticut Gun Law Adds Permit Requirement to Rifles and Shotguns

featured-conn-gun-law

On April 1, 2014, a new Connecticut gun law will affect any hunter or shooter looking to buy a long gun.

The NRA’s Institute for Legislative Action reviewed the latest round of Connecticut gun regulations that will switch on at the beginning of April.

They include the need to get a permit through the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP) know as a “long gun eligibility certificate” to buy any new rifle or shotgun. Gun owners are exempt if they hold a Connecticut permit to carry a pistol or revolver; a pistol or revolver retail sales permit; or a pistol or revolver eligibility certificate.

The post-Newtown tragedy era helped in part to usher in these new provisions, the latest made to the 140-page Senate Bill 1160.

RELATED: How Do Guns and Death Rates Relate? [INFOGRAPHIC]

The fee tax for the long gun eligibility certificate is $35, and must be renewed every five years. A DESPP-approved safety training course must also be completed.

Finally, as is the trending case, fingerprints must be submitted to both state and federal authorities, costing $50 and $16.50, respectively.

The fate of that new turkey shotgun or deer rifle is then in the hands of the DSEPP commissioner, who has 60 days to approve the certificate, which can then be used to purchase the long guns.

The NRA is working to reverse the “dangerous law,” but until they do, hunters and shooting enthusiasts in Connecticut will have some more regulations connected to their firearms.

What do you think of the rule changes and the fees that will start in Connecticut on April 1?

you might also like

New Connecticut Gun Law Adds Permit Requirement to Rifles and Shotguns